GGG Book Club: The Last Letter from Your Lover

Hi lovelies, happy Thursday! I’m so sorry that I’ve been absent from the blog world lately. Things were a little crazy with the Fourth of July holiday and then I wasn’t feeling too well. Anyway, I’m back now and happy to be here! During my time off I realized that I’ve been holding out on you guys. It’s been months since I did a book review which would make it seem like I’m not reading. Actually, the opposite is true and I’ve been averaging a few books a week. It all started when I discovered the addictive Hunger Games series and 50 Shades series. Since then, a book doesn’t last for more than 2 days around me!

I’m in two book clubs so I read for those, but most of the books I read come from my Amazon Kindle suggestions. By analyzing your purchased and browsed books, Amazon creates an ever-changing list of books that you might be interested in– and they are often spot on! The latest one I read was The Last Letter from Your Lover by Jojo Moyes. Cited as a book that will appeal to fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, which I did not like and One Day, which is my favorite book, I thought I should give it a shot.

Synopsis:

It is 1960s London and Jennifer wakes up in the hospital with no recollection of how she ended up there or her life prior to the accident. Recovering from her injuries, she is thrust into a seemingly new world where she struggles with how to act and behave as a high-society wife. While she looks to those around her to guide her, what she struggles with most is her inability to remember how she feels about those closest to her, including her husband. One day, while searching the house for clues to jog her memory, she comes across a hidden love letter, mysteriously signed B. In 2003, journalist Ellie struggles to focus on work while she’s wrapped up in a complicated affair. As everything around her is starting to fall apart, she finds a love letter from forty years prior and is determined to find out what happened to the lovers and if they had a fairy tale ending.

Thoughts:

This book hooked me instantly with Jennifer waking up in the hospital. The idea of someone not being able to remember how they felt about things really stuck with me, and Moyes does a beautiful job conveying all of Jennifer’s emotions and the struggle to return to her life. I also loved the contrast of Ellie’s modern-day perspective and thought it truly highlighted something I talk to my girlfriends about all the time- how these days a man’s effort is often restricted to a text message vs. a hand written love letter to convey one’s feelings. The contrast is so interesting and it’s easy to see why Ellie becomes wrapped up with this story. I also love a romantic storyline and this is one of the best I’ve read in a while- I found myself rooting for Jennifer and the mysterious B (whose perspective is also shared) and became desperate for them to get together. This well-written novel will appeal to those who are looking for a summer read but want something a little more complex than your usual chick-lit. The storyline continually twists and turns and it will keep you interested all the way through. I wholeheartedly recommend this!

Questions:

-How do you pick what books to read?

-What do you think about the amount of effort men put into relationships these days versus 50 years ago?

-Do you read books based on what city they are set in? (I almost always gravitate towards books set in London- my favorite city in the world, or San Francisco!)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 404 other followers